Ragusa

Ragusa is an italian municipality of 73,439 inhabitants, capital of the Libero consorzio comunale di Ragusa in Sicily that replaced the suppressed Province of Ragusa. It is the seventh largest municipality in the region by population and the third largest by area. The municipal house rises 502 m above sea level.

It is the southernmost capital of Italy. It is called the “city of bridges,” due to the presence of three very picturesque and historically valuable structures, but it has also been referred to by scholars, artists and economists as “the island within the island” or “the other Sicily,” due to its history and a socio-economic context very different from the rest of the island.

In 1693 a devastating earthquake caused the almost total destruction of the entire city, claiming more than five thousand victims. Reconstruction in the 18th century divided it into two large districts: on the one hand, Upper Ragusa, located on the plateau, and on the other, Ragusa Ibla, which rose from the ruins of the ancient city and was rebuilt according to the ancient medieval layout.

The architectural masterpieces built after the earthquake, along with all those in the Val di Noto, were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2002.

It represents the landscape center of “Commissario Montalbano,” as well as being the town for which Leonardo Sciascia loved to emphasize the genuineness and sincerity of the human relationships of its inhabitants. These attributes succeeded in disassociating it from the Mafia to such an extent that it led the writer to refer to it as the “Babba Province.”

The city divided into two

The city is divided into two areas: Ragusa Ibla (the old part) and Upper Ragusa (the part built after the 1693 earthquake). The most important monuments in this area include: the Cathedral of St. John and the Church of the College of Maria Addolorata. In Ragusa Ibla we mention instead: the Church of Santa Maria delle Scale, the Church of Santa Maria dell’Itria, the Cathedral of San Giorgio, and the Portal of San Giorgio. The famous Giardini Pubblici then, full of plants typical of the area, inside which there is also a terrace overlooking the valley that surrounds the historic center and from which there is a splendid view of the Monti Iblei.

Arezzo Trifiletti Palace

Among the noble palaces is Palazzo Arezzo Trifiletti, which was destroyed during the 1693 earthquake and rebuilt only in the mid-19th century. Both the courtyard and the entrance hall are dominated by the “pitch” stone, or asphaltic stone that makes up the fine portal surmounted by the family coat of arms. After a stunning scissor staircase, one reaches the second floor of the historic mansion. Inside you can admire beautiful paintings (especially portraits of Trefiletti ancestors), sumptuous floors and ceilings (such as the Salone delle Feste). The view of Piazza Duomo with the magnificent St. George’s Cathedral in the background is stupendous. Period lounges and furniture are distinguished by features, for example, the dining room is called the “angels’ room,” while the yellow drawing room is paved with pitchstone and embellished with ceramic tiles of the Neapolitan school.